Tell Your Bicycle Love Story

23 Mar

I am looking for your stories.

And your friend’s stories, too. Please tell your friends who like words and like bikes.

I am looking to bring a personal perspective to people who ride bikes for transportation, exercise, or health, as a way to people watch.  Maybe you’re motivated by environmental, economical, ethical reasons.

I love bikes, I love being able to get where I want, when I want, and as fast or slow as I want. I relish the independence my bicycle affords me, and the ability to get in shape while getting around almost for free. I love that I never worry about gas prices, that I don’t have car or insurance payments, and that it’s always easy to meet new people while riding bikes.

I like making friends at stop lights.

I want to know what motivates and excites other people because I want to see more people on bikes in all of our cities. Because it is contagious and makes riding safer and more fun for everyone of all ages and abilities to ride when the numbers of bike riders increase.

Because bike traffic jams are fun.

For Even More Details…

Submission Details:

I want to hear how biking has changed your life.

I’m looking for joyful, swoony, excited non-fiction (now) stories celebrating bicycles and their impact on your life, family, or community.

If you can tell your story in  300-600 words, that’s best, but shorter or longer pieces are possible too. Please include at least one relevant photograph, a short bio (about two sentences), and a link to your website if you have one. I will include at least one new story/article/post weekly, and but I would love to include more if I receive a number of quality stories.

If you are interested in contributing something longer, or something else entirely, please let me know and we can discuss it.

Email submissions to: moregardenslesscars@gmail.com

Future topics will vary. Suggestions are welcome.

6 Responses to “Tell Your Bicycle Love Story”

  1. viscountjan March 26, 2010 at 03:57 #

    Can I submit story that happened about 5 years ago? When’s the deadline?

    • Laura Walsh March 26, 2010 at 08:15 #

      Sure, it can be recent or from 30 years ago, five is fine too. You can send it anytime in the next year, I’m going to be collecting them for awhile and putting them up as I get them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Streetsblog.net » Revisiting the Idea of a Bicycle Tax - March 24, 2010

    […] Ride a Bike has an open thread about how to buy a bike on a budget; head over and add your advice. Reimagine an Urban Paradise is looking for stories of bicycle love. And The Dirt reports on plans for freeway-capping parks in […]

  2. Now Let’s Talk About Getting There « Reimagine an Urban Paradise - March 29, 2010

    […] Keep sending your bicycle love stories, and I’ll share the first one with you next week. Here is an example of my own bicycle love […]

  3. Bicycle Love Story: Bessie, My First Real Relationship « Reimagine an Urban Paradise - April 1, 2010

    […] Real Relationship Posted on April 1, 2010 by slickaphonic This is the first in a series of Bicycle Love Stories that have been submitted by readers and […]

  4. Best Dressed Bike Commuter Contest « Reimagine an Urban Paradise - April 29, 2010

    […] are passionate and excited about their bicycles. I’ve been collecting bicycle love stories from people around the country but some people have insisted that they’re not writers, but […]

Leave a Reply

