Drivers, Please Don’t Hit Me

28 Apr

I’m just trying to go home too.

A couple of hours ago I was riding my bike on Liberty Avenue in Pittsburgh when a woman driving behind me suddenly accelerated and swerved to the right to pass the car in front of her.

But the lane wasn’t empty.

I was there. I was riding my bicycle and she didn’t look before she nearly plowed into me.

Luckily at least I was paying attention (and not texting) and was able to react quickly. I slammed on my brakes and swerved out of the way.

It was the middle of the day and I was dressed in the brightest clothes I own (which says a lot to those of you who know me) so I was definitely visible.

Below is something of a reenactment photographed by my charming roommate. Mostly it’s just to show how bright my clothing was. Short of covering myself in hundreds of lights, I can’t get that much more visible in the middle of the day.

I embrace the hell out of safety because I love my life.

And I always ride with a helmet covered with flames of safety!

Re-enactment on my tiny street that rarely has car traffic

To everyone: please pay attention. Let’s just look out for each other and slow down a bit.

3 Responses to “Drivers, Please Don’t Hit Me”

  1. Ginny April 28, 2010 at 18:51 #

    I’m glad you were paying attention, because I love your life too!

  2. maaaty April 29, 2010 at 21:17 #

    Eeek, glad you were okay! I hope the person learned to pay more attention in the future.

    Fingers crossed: I haven’t had any close calls in the past two years here in Oakland.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Streetsblog.net » Solving Chicago’s Last-Mile Problem - April 29, 2010

    […] the network: Livable Norwalk on the mysterious three-sided crosswalks of Norwalk, Connecticut. Reimagine an Urban Paradise asks drivers to allow her to live through her commute. And Let’s Go Ride a Bike reveals the […]

Leave a Reply

