In the Market for a New Name

In the Market for a New Name

I want a new name.

Not personally, but for my little piece of real estate on the internet. I selected “One Night Lemonade Stand” in the middle of the night and it is too long and too irrelevant to stick with for much longer. I had no idea when I started this blog that I’d do it for longer than a minute and so it seemed important just to start writing instead of wobbling indecisively trying to think of a brilliant name.

I’ve had a number of people offer to help redesign the layout, but it seems like a waste of time and effort while I’m stuck with this clunky web address.

“Reimagine an Urban Paradise” is more to the point but is also a burden to the mouth to say and for the ear to hear. It feels like I have marbles and bricks in my mouth every time I say it. So I’m looking to you, gentle readers, for your feedback and opinions.

I like cities, density, the transformative power of bicycles, public transportation, people, trains, gardens, being car-free and making it possible for people to live that way, clean air, safe streets, art, public art, murals block parties, getting to know my neighbors, libraries, and you.

If you have a succinct idea for my website’s new name that can convey this, I will give you credit on new flashy site as well as buy you an ice cream at Oh Yeah! if you’re in Pittsburgh, or the next time you come here.

How can you resist that? Eternal internet fame and an ice cream cone! Here are some images from a mural in the works in my neighborhood to help inspire.

Mural in the works on the Northside

This mural is being painted on the side of one of the buildings of the City of Asylum/Pittsburgh which provides a furnished house, a living stipend, medical coverage, and help to writers who have been persecuted or threatened with death in their native countries.

7 thoughts on “In the Market for a New Name

  1. Racey. That is how you are remembered by your little cousin. So, my suggestion is raceybiker dot com if it hasn’t already been rented out.

    1. Racy was one of my most prominent adjectives in 2000-2001. I’m not so racy though in word use or other. Say Hi to little cousin for me!

  2. Re-imagine an Urban Paradise can be shortened to some variation of :

    Re-UP

    –which, as you so wonderfully illustrate here, is what cities in this country need to do if we want to make a better lives for ourselves.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

