We Want to Know What You Think: Importance of Writing and Reading Letters to the Editor

Do you read the newspaper? You know, the paper kind. The one that you can hold in your hands, curl up with on the porch, scribble on, and do the crossword?

With the diversion of millions of websites providing distraction and different news for different opinions, the local newspaper remains the best way to publicly address millions of your closest neighbors.

I relish reading the letters to the editor, I love finding out what other people are thinking about the main issues addressing our local, national, and international communities.

“I should write in and SAY SOMETHING”

I always, always, always think that but I never do. I haven’t in years, and I bet a lot of you haven’t in years too, right?

*This is not me

Without the letters of regular people to the editor, the newspaper an outlet of some massive corporation (now, anyway), a one way dispersal of information from the big money-backed guys down to us.

That’s why the letters section is always one of the most popular and valuable sections of any newspaper paper as people everywhere seem to crave knowledge of what their neighbors think.

When we, you and me, gentle reader, don’t write letters then we are just talking to ourselves. I know there are other people out there who care about creating a better planned and more just and free world for everyone everywhere.

We can vote in occasional elections where politicians may or may not act as we want them to, we can vote with our money by how we choose to spend it and also how we choose NOT to spend it. But another way of making your opinion count is by voicing it to others.

Please do.

Even if you are a person used to reading this blog, rather than commenting, think about the value of adding your voice to the discussion, both here and in the newspaper. We want to know what you think.


4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Dave Malehorn August 6, 2010 — 09:20

    Why stop at letter-to-the-editor? Submit entire pieces to the op-ed editor on your topic of interest, or first-person narration of your unique experiences.

  2. I love the fact that you make me slow down and think about things. I find myself rushing through my day to get everything done, both at work, home, my own blog, etc..that I don’t take the time to comment on the things that matter to me. Maybe if I put it on my “to do” list I will actually do it. How sad is that?

    • Thanks, Carrie. There is so much stimulation these days that it is really difficult to stop and take in the most important things sometimes. To-do lists can be satisfying and useful.

Leave a Reply

