What a Fantastic Morning! Walking, Yoga, Local Businesses, Delicious Foods

I woke at 5:30am and before 9 am, I had walked two miles, attended two yoga classes, and patronized four local businesses!

It’s getting better.

I started the day by walking to Yoga Hive, a new yoga studio recently opened by Kimberly Musial. Since they just opened, they have a special rate and you can try it out for $10 for two weeks. Just ten dollars — for unlimited classes!

This photo is not me. Taken by flickr user Shunpikie

So after a lovely first sweaty class, I stayed for the “Guided Meditation” which was so soothing and effective at quieting my constantly rushing mind that I think I may have fallen asleep. It was an incredibly restful feeling and left me feeling like I didn’t have a care in the world. I was even able to block out the car sounds outside on Penn Ave — a feat that is nearly impossible for me.

After yoga, I grabbed the newspaper from a convenience store, a cup of coffee from Voluto to sip while reading the Post-Gazette. My stroll home was lovely, too, and I stopped at People’s Grocery for an onion to assemble my future magnificent breakfast.

The Breakfast Brigade: Bagels, Mushrooms, Habaneros, Oh My!

I have a swell breakfast routine and it involves listening to NPR while whipping up a fairly elaborate bagel based meal and then reading the newspaper while eating.

Here’s my incredibly addictive breakfast:

  • An everything bagel (or two), sliced, toasted.
  • Cream cheese (onion and chives!)
  • Sliced onion
  • Thin slices of apple
  • A delicious cheese (I usually use Havarti with Dill or some cheddar)
  • Habanero (if you like it, I can’t have a meal without one)
  • Cilantro (if you like it, if you’ve got it, I love it)
  • Sauteed mushroom (these last two if you want to get really fancy, I do)
  • Sauteed spinach

After you’ve toasted the bagel, cover it with cream cheese.

Slice the apple paper thin and place 2-3 slices all over the bottom half of the bagel. This will cover the hole of the bagel and allow you to cover it with even more food.

Just a small part of my habanero stash that I saved for my move from DC to Pittsburgh last year

Throw some onion on top of that for crunch and flavor.

Add mushrooms and spinach.

Cover all of the food with thin slices of your extra cheese to melt. Put the bagel back in the toaster oven or broiler and melt the cheese.

Add cilantro and minced habanero to the top and then cover with the other half of the bagel.

Slice in half and savor the massive six inch high bagel. I wish I had a picture to show you but I get so excited about my bagel that I eat too fast!

Now I’m walking to work because sometimes I like to move even more slowly than my bicycle.

Have a great day!

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Well gee, my morning wasn’t nearly as awesome as yours.

  2. yay! i love your bagel.

  3. thanks, lolly! we’re so glad to have you at the studio. let’s talk about a bike pittsburgh ‘deal’ once the 2 weeks for $10 wears off. xx!

  4. Lolly! I went to Yoga Hive on Monday morning. It was strange being out SO early but I really enjoyed it! Since I have the two week pass, I’ll probably see you there soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

